project banner image

In partnership with

project partners image Department of Health NHS Digital Cabinet Office Information Governance Alliance Health Education England

Data Security Awareness

The Data Security e-learning programme has been designed to support different groups of staff in health and social care. 

There are 3 levels of learning:

Level 1 - Data security and information sharing:

This course is mandated for everyone working in health and care. It has been designed to inform, educate and upskill staff in data security and information sharing.

It provides an understanding of the principles and importance of data security and information governance. It looks at staff responsibilities when sharing information and includes a section on how to take action to reduce the risk of breaches and incidents. 

Level 2 - Data security course (coming soon)

This course has been designed for those who manage ICT and Information Governance departments and who need to be aware of how to protect the data in their organisation. 

Level 3 - Data security course (coming soon)

This course is designed for senior management and looks at the key considerations and government initiatives their organisation needs to consider and act on.


Please note that Levels 2 and 3 can be accessed by anyone who is interested in learning more about data security.

This training has been produced by the NHS Digital and the External Information Governance Delivery team, in collaboration with partners across health and care. 


We are trialling Live Chat as a new form of support.

The service will be available from:

Monday to Friday
11 am till 1 pm
2 pm till 4 pm

Go to Live Chat

We are assessing our support services. Please help us by providing feedback and completing this short questionnaire.

Go to Feedback form